Covid-19 Update

Due to the latest government update the College is now closed to all but essential staff. If you are a staff member and are unsure about your status, please remain at home and contact your head of department. If you need help with logging into the Staff Area with your Raven ID, please click here.

Bennett Institute Conference 2019: Policy for the future: fairness, equity and democracy

15 Apr 2019
Location: Wolfson Hall, Churchill College
Start time: 09:15
End time: 19:00

Bennett Institute Conference 2019

The 2019 Bennett Conference for Public Policy explores practical ways in which policy can evolve to create a fairer and more equitable future. And how can we do this whilst avoiding some of the seismic democratic disruptions that have shaken the world in recent years?

On this theme the keynote talk will be from Dr Ben Goldacre (University of Oxford), doctor, best-selling author, academic and campaigner. He will be talking with Michael Blastland, author, journalist, and BBC Radio 4 broadcaster, who will chair the keynote.

The conference will highlight some of the work launched by the Bennett Institute during the past 12 months and partner with the Centre for Science and Policy (CSaP) and Churchill College, with whom we have been exploring the intersection of science and policy.

Keynote: Ben Goldacre, chaired by Michael Blastland

Sessions include:

Speakers include: 

Dimitri Zenghelis (University of Cambridge), Matthew Agarwala (University of Cambridge), Dr Yan Zhang (University of Cambridge), Dr Eoin O’Sullivan (University of Cambridge), Dr Penny Mealy (University of Cambridge), Tony Curzon Price (Policy Unit economist, Department of Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy), Seth Thomas (Bank of England), Josh Simons (University of Harvard), Emily Bell (University of Columbia), Sir Richard Leese (Leader of Manchester City Council), Richard Sandford (UCL/Heritage Futures), Professor Sir David King (Former Special Representative for Climate Change, Foreign & Commonwealth Office).

Full speakers list, biographies, schedule to be announced soon.

Event website