Memorial Concert for Hugh Wood (1932–2021)

11 Dec 2021
Location: The Chapel Churchill College
Start time: 17:00
End time: 18:30

The College has organised a concert in memory of Hugh Wood, Director of Studies in music from 1975 to 1999, in the Chapel at Churchill, combining performances of Hugh’s chamber music with spoken tributes.

The programme represents music from across his long career, and we are excited to welcome an excellent line-up of performers, most of whom studied with Hugh at Cambridge.

Programme to include works by Hugh Wood:

Trio for flute, viola and piano (1961)
Paraphrase on ‘Bird of Paradise’ (1985)
Clarinet Trio (1997)
Ballade (2012)
Ithaka (2016)

Performed by:

Joanna MacGregor - piano
Steven Gutman – piano
Ileana Ruhemann – flute
Lynsey Marsh – clarinet
Fiona McCapra – violin
Rachel Stott – viola
Adrian Bradbury – cello

With spoken tributes from:

Robin Holloway, Emeritus Professor of Musical Composition at Cambridge University
Alice Goodman, Librettist; Rector of Fulbourn and the Wilbrahams
Tim Cribb, Emeritus Fellow in English at Churchill College

The concert is followed by a drinks reception in the Chapel open to all concert attendees.

Alumni of Churchill College are invited to use their dining rights to join members of the Fellowship and performers for a meal in Hall afterwards (alumni may bring a maximum of one guest to dine). Please use the separate dinner booking form accessed from the button below, in addition to booking for the concert.

Booking for dinner (alumni only, with up to 1 additional guest)

A small number of rooms have been made available in College for the evening. If you would like to stay the night, please use the button below and be sure to enter the code KX2021AL to bring up availability and prices.

Book a room

Make a booking