The architectural journey of college architecture was celebrated at a special panel discussion held in the Jock Colville Hall; ‘Designing Churchill: 1959-2016’ on Friday 23 September.

Starting with the competition to build Churchill College in 1959, described as ‘the most important single architectural competition in England of the post-war period’ the panel explored the range of architects that have built afresh at Churchill since the 60s, responding to changing needs and styles, culminating in Cowan Court. Panel members included Mr Barry Phipps, Professor Mark Goldie, Dr Minna Sunikka-Blank, Professor Marcial Echenique and Professor Tom Emerson, the founder of 6a architects, who designed Cowan Court.

Image: CCAR/401/02a/20 Sketch of scheme A by Sheppard Robson and Partners.

Find out more about our history