Back to list

Dame Polly Courtice 

Year started



Sustainability Leadership

Fellow Type


Polly was Founder Director of the University of Cambridge Institute for Sustainability Leadership (1989-2021), an internationally recognised centre of excellence in sustainability leadership working with business, government and the finance sector. She is a Fellow of Churchill College and an Honorary Fellow of Murray Edwards College, Cambridge.

She is a Director of Jupiter Green Investment Trust, a Non-Executive Director of Anglian Water Services Ltd and a Board Advisor to the British Standards Institute. She serves on the environmental/sustainability advisory boards for AstraZeneca and Nespresso.

In 2021 she was appointed as a Deputy Lieutenant of Cambridgeshire and is a member of the Cambridgeshire and Peterborough Independent Commission on Climate. She is a member of the judging panel for the Queen’s Award for Sustainable Development and a Trustee of Cambridge Past, Present and Future, a local charity dedicating to protecting and enhancing the Cambridge area and its green landscapes.

In 2016 she was appointed Dame Commander of the Order of the British Empire (DBE) for services to Sustainability Leadership. Prior to that in 2008 Polly had been made a Lieutenant of the Victorian Order (LVO). Polly holds a BA from the University of Cape Town and an MA from the University of Cambridge.

College Positions

Professional By-Fellow

14 December 2017 – 16 December 2021