Congratulations to Churchill alumni — Professor Paul Emery (U&G71), Professor Nick Paton (U&G84), and Professor Peter Stott (G83), who have been named in this year’s King’s New Year Honours List.

Professor Paul Emery, whose research on early intervention in inflammatory arthritis has been adopted around the world, has been awarded a CBE for services to rheumatology. Alongside his student teaching and supervision roles in the Faculty of Medicine and Health, he is Versus Arthritis Professor of Rheumatology at the University’s Leeds Institute of Rheumatic and Musculoskeletal Disease, and director of the NIHR Leeds Biomedical Research Centre. Read further information about Professor Emery’s work and achievements leading to this honour: 2024 New Years Honours list | Versus Arthritis

Professor Nick Paton, was made an OBE for services to global health. He has led major global trials including for treatments for HIV and TB, and holds a joint appointment at the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine and the National University of Singapore. Read more about Professor Nick Paton here.

Professor Peter Stott, Met Office Climate Science Fellow, has been awarded an MBE for services to Climate Science and International Climate Action, for his work at the Met Office and Exeter University.

Peter Stott is a Science Fellow in Climate Attribution at the Met Office and Professor in Detection and Attribution at the University of Exeter. He has made a significant national and international contribution to the development of climate science and to establishing and supporting the scientific case for action on climate change, marking him out among his peers. Read more about the work leading to his recognition in an article by the Met Office: New Year Honours for Met Office CE and Science Fellow – Met Office