Our Coronavirus Guidance

So that we can ensure that all Members of the Churchill College community stay healthy and safe, things will look a little different when you next come to College. But you can find everything you need to know on our new Coronavirus Guidance page  From the latest research from the University to what you should do if you have symptoms, and from the provision of College services to minimising the risk of transmission, you'll find all the answers to your questions here.

Churchill College and Faculty of English prizes

Kinsella poetry prize adjudicators and 2018 winner Bethany Dubow

John Kinsella and Tracy Ryan poetry prize adjudicators, Tim Cribb, Lee Ann Brown and Ricard Partington with the 2018 winner — Bethany Dubow. 

The John Kinsella and Tracy Ryan poetry prize

The prize is open to those in statu pupillari in the University of Cambridge. The prize will be awarded for an original verse composition in any form, of not more than 500 lines in length. Candidates may enter more than one poem. The prize will be a single award of £500, though a shared prize may be awarded in the event of two equally appropriate candidates. The winning poem will be published in The Churchill Review.

The prize will not be awarded if no entries are of adequate quality; it will not be awarded twice to the same person. The judges may, if they wish, make honourable mention of another entry or entries. The prize will be administered jointly by the Faculty of English and Churchill College. There will be three judges, one from the College, one from the Faculty, and one external judge who will normally be a practising poet. 

The Other Prize

The Other Prize is open to those in statu pupillari in the University of Cambridge. It will be awarded for an original, unperformed play of any length. Candidates may enter more than one play. The Prize will be a single award of £500, though a shared prize may be awarded in the event of two equally appropriate candidates; the Prize will not be awarded if no entries are of adequate quality. The winning play will also be staged by the Marlowe Society.  

The Prize may not be awarded twice to the same person. Adjudication will be in two stages. A shortlist will be selected by a panel consisting of one appointed by Churchill College, one by Homerton College Theatre Department, one by the Marlowe Society. 

Further details, and testimonies from past entrants, are available on the Marlowe Society website. 

Marlowe Society Advert

Marlowe Society: Other Prize


While we usually ask for paper copies of entries, due to the ongoing pandemic we request that submissions for both prizes are made through the online form below. We recommend that you open the link in an 'incognito' or 'InPrivate' browser tab, as you will need to sign in to your University Google account  (through raven) to access the form; if you are logged in to other (e.g. personal) Google accounts, you may be denied permission to open the form. 

Where possible, submissions should be in PDF form. Submissions should not contain any identifying information (e.g. your name). 

Submit an Entry

While we would prefer you use this form, if you are having trouble, please feel free to email tutorial.assistant@chu.cam.ac.uk with your full name, college, CSrid, home address and poem/play title, with your submission included as an attachment. If you have already submitted a paper copy of your submission, this will be considered; you do not need to resubmit. 

Entries should arrive by the end of the Lent Full Term 2021, Friday 19th March. The award of the prize will be announced by the end of the Easter Term 2021. 

2020 Winners

Poetry Prize

The 2020 prize was jointly won by Aidan Tulloch (Christ's College) for his poem Image 4 19:02 and Mariam Abdel-Razek (Trinity College)  for her poem 2234

Other Prize

The 2020 Other Prize was won by William Leckie (Pembroke College) for his play No one needs to know.  We also congratulated Helena Coggan, whose play Voyager received the runner-up commendation.

2019 Winners

Poetry Prize

The 2019 prize was won by Tanvi Roberts for her poem Echo.

Tanvi Roberts with Master Athene Donald receiving Kinsella Poetry Prize 2019
2019 Poetry Prize winner, Tanvi Roberts and the Master of Churchill, Athene Donald

Other Prize

The 2019 Other Prize was won by Aaron Kilercioglu for his play Telescope. We also congratulated Cerian Craske, whose play Slug received the runner-up commendation.

Cerian Craske receiving runner-up Kinsella Other Prize from Master Athene Donald

2019 Other Prize runner-up Cerian Craske and Master of Churchill, Athene Donald.


Faculty of English

John Kinsella: Poetry Foundation

Cambridge University Marlowe Dramatic Society