Victorious Churchill!

  • First women Fellow elected: Daphne Osborne
  • First Churchill Association alumni dinner in College
  • Southern African Bursary established to fund black African students
  • John Piper’s glass unveiled in the chapel
  • Churchill students win TV’s University Challenge
  • 400 students petition for renewal of the chaplain, Noel Duckworth
  • Churchill students achieve High Court ruling that students nationwide can register to vote in their university constituencies
  • Prince of Wales attends a meeting of the Socratic Society
  • First alumni elected MPs: Gavin Strang (G64), John Wilkinson (U62)


Share your memories of this year

Add your own stories and photo.