Churchill College Association

The Churchill College Association was established to promote friendship between resident and non-resident members — Fellows, students and alumni. From the day you become a member of Churchill College you are a member of the Churchill College Association.



Membership affords the opportunity for Churchillians to maintain links with The College and each other. The Association organises a number of events which you are welcome to attend, in particular, the Churchill Association Annual Dinner, which takes place in September and coincides with the University’s Alumni Festival weekend. Other special interest groups, activities and events are organised throughout the year so please sign up for the College’s E-Bulletin and check the website for details.

The Churchill College Association Committee meets twice a year and its current Chair is Andrew Stephenson (G89). The Committee is always open to new ideas and feedback, and welcomes your involvement. It would especially welcome volunteers as year representatives.

Please get in touch and get involved – the Churchill College Association exists for all of you!

Email the committee

Association Committee

The Churchill College Association Executive Committee meets twice per year and holds its AGM during the Association Weekend at the end of September each year.


  • Dr Andrew Stephenson (G89) until 2023

Deputy Chair

  • Jayne Donora (U80)

Decade Representatives

  • 1960s Peter Clarke (U61) until 2020 & John McGee (U69) until 2020
  • 1970s Trevor Cave (U71) until 2020 & Dr Cathy Elliott (U73) until 2023
  • 1980s Jayne Donora (U80) until 2022 & Sue Brown (G83) until 2022
  • 1990s Dr Andrew Ball (U90) until 2020 & vacant
  • 2000s Beata Zygarlowska until 2024 (G03) & vacant
  • 2010s vacant

Co-opted Members

  • Graham Thomas (U61) until 2021
  • Tim Cribb (Emeritus Fellow) until 2020
  • Dr Brian McGee (U&G99) until 2024

If you are interested in joining the Committee as a decade representative or would simply like to be put in touch, please contact the Association.

Email the committee

Representatives from the Common Rooms

  • JCR President
  • MCR President
  • SCR Representative

Current Fellows

  • Dr Adrian Barbrook (Vice Master)
  • Fran Malarée (Development Director)
  • Anny King (Churchill Review Editor)


  • Elizabeth McWilliams (Alumni and Events Officer)

The Honorary Vice-Presidents for Life

  • Lord Alec Broers (former Master)
  • Sir David Wallace (former Master)
  • Hywel George (Bursar 1972–1990)
  • Jennifer Brook (Bursar 1998–2017)
  • Mary Beveridge (Registrar 1984–1991)

Association Groups

The Churchill College Association is about bringing together Churchillians who share hobbies, sport and cultural interests.

Our common interest groups include rowing, golf and rugby, creative writing, visits with Churchill Connections  and, thanks to Frank Maine (G60), a passion for orchids. Our new London group is launching a lecture series and Churchillians in Cambridge are getting together for drinks.

Groups like this are a great way to keep in touch with each other and the College. If you like to join us or set one up where you are, please get in touch.

Churchill College Boat Club

The Churchill College Boat Club was founded in 1961 and is open to all members of the College.  It emphasises the social aspect of rowing as much as the physical side – members can row as much or as little as they want and are invited to events throughout the year.

Find out more

Sign up for the CCBC Newsletter

Writing Group

Alumna Rosie Johnston U73, novelist, poet and journalist, has been writing since 1992 and offers free writing courses at Churchill College.  The Churchill Writers usually meet in the Churchill College Club Room on the middle four Saturdays of each term from 3:30pm – 5:30pm. However at present the group meet approximately once a month virtually over Zoom. The sessions offer the opportunity to write in a safe, positive environment, either for yourself or with the intent of publishing. Everyone who has a Churchill College connection of any kind is welcome and the group sessions are free of charge.

Find out more

Email Rosie