Back to list

Dr Anna-Maria Kypraiou 

Year started




Fellow Type

Lecturers, Professors and College Officers,

Anna-Maria Kypraiou is currently a Fellow and Lecturer in Engineering at Churchill College.

She has been teaching undergraduates and masters engineering students. The taught courses include Thermodynamics, Fluid Mechanics, Mechanics, Structures, Internal Combustion Engines, Gas Turbine Aerodynamics and Materials.

She began her engineering career by studying Chemical Engineering at the National Technical University of Athens in Greece. She then completed the M.Phil. in Energy Technologies at the Department of Engineering at the University of Cambridge. She further pursued a Ph.D. in Engineering at the University of Cambridge. Her Ph.D. research was an industrial project with Rolls Royce specialising in thermoacoustic instabilities within gas turbine engines.

Her technical expertise includes aeroengine fast gas analysis, energy flow optimisation, experimentation using advanced combustion diagnostic techniques and development of algorithms for big data analysis as well as machine learning and soft sensors.

Since her Ph.D., she has transferred the technology and her technical expertise from the Aerospace to the Maritime Industry. She has been working on projects on the reduction of fuel consumption and fuel oil consumption uncertainty reduction. Most recently, she worked on system energy optimisation and development of methods for fuel consumption reduction on very large crude carriers (VLCC).

She introduced a novel type of modelling, referred to as Machine learning Enhanced Physical Process Algorithm (MEPA) useful in the understanding, optimisation and predictive maintenance of industrial systems. This modelling is important for the reduction of green house gas emissions from the aerospace and maritime power systems. She is based at the Whittle Laboratory. Her recent research activities focus on applying machine learning to identify operating modes within engines.

During her engineering career she has received various prizes, including the McKinsey Next Generation Women Leaders Award (2017), the Technical Chamber of Greece Award (2017), the Amelia Earhart Award in recognition of distinctive merit in the aerospace industry (2016), the M.Phil. Distinction and Examiner’s Prize (2013) and the Best diploma thesis Thomaidion Award (2011).