Back to list

Professor Michael Green 

Year started




Fellow Type


Professor Green (undergraduate and postgraduate 1964/70) is the Lucasian Chair of Mathematics, holder of both the Dirac and Maxwell Medals of the Institute of Physics, the Dirac Medal of the International Centre for Theoretical Physics (Trieste), the Dannie Heinemann Prize for Mathematical Physics of the American Physical Society and the 2014 Breakthrough Prize in physics. He was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society in 1989 and was awarded the 2021 Physical Sciences Gold Medal of the Royal Society. Professor Green is internationally recognised as one of the pioneers of string theory. He is a Fellow of Clare Hall.

University of Cambridge profile